The International Labour Conference is the ILO’s highest decision-making body. It meets annually, bringing together the tripartite (governments, employers and workers) delegations from the Organization’s 187 members States and several observers from other international actors to consider series of topics placed on its agenda by Governing Body of the ILO.

This year’s meeting will be held in Geneva, Switzerland between 10-21 June 2019. The Conference is composed of a plenary and several committees set up to consider the standing items on the Conference agenda, and technical committees to deal with technical items This year’s Conference takes place during the Centenary of the ILO and will deliberate on the following;

  • The crafting and adoption of international labour standards in the form of conventions and recommendations.
  • Supervising the application of conventions and recommendations at the national level.
  • Representing a forum where social and labour questions of importance to the entire world are discussed. Delegates explore the course of social progress in the world, but the central theme is the report presented each year by the ILO’s Director-General.
  • Violence and harassment in the world of work and Thematic debates and events connected to the Future of Work, including various Centenary Initiatives.

It’s being held in two locations in Geneva, Switzerland: the Palais des Nations and ILO Headquarter, for more than 5,700 worker, employer and government delegates from the ILO’s 187-member States.

The COCOBOD delegation is led by Mr. Francis Akwasi Opoku (Director, Human Resource/Solicitor Secretary) with Messrs Sefa-Clottey (Director, Legal), Francis Gyamfi Ocran (HR Manager, COCOBOD), George Oppong (HR Manager, QCC), Nana Akua Achiaa Mansah (Dep. HR Manager, CHED), Regina Adjei Baffour (Administrator, Takoradi), Festus Nene Caesar (Dep. HR Manager, CMC), Felicia Gawu-Mensah (Dep. Admin. Manager, CMC) as team members.

COCOBOD Workers, on the other hand, are also represented by Messrs Edward Okoh Ampofo (Supreme Chair), Theodore Otomfo Adu (Chairman, Snr. Staff Assoc.), Nasiru Issaka (Union Chair, SPD), Emmanuel Samuel Awuku (Union Exec., CRIG).

To mark the ILO’s Centenary year, the meeting’s Plenary will hold several high-level sessions throughout the conference, to accommodate the visits of a large number of heads of State and Government.

The President, Nana Addo Dankwah Akufo-Addo will address the Plenary together with other Heads of States.

The Conference will elect its President and Vice-Presidents, to be followed by the opening address of ILO Director-General, Guy Ryder, the spokespersons of the Employers’ and Workers’ groups, and the Chairperson of the ILO Governing Body.